If you want to secure your account from undesired attention, blocking Instagram users is what you’re looking for. But how do you know if someone blocked you and hid their accounts from your sight? These are several tips on how to tell for sure if other users have blocked your account.
How Do You Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram?
You won’t get any notifications if someone blocks you on Instagram or restricts your actions. With that in mind, let’s tell the difference between the block and restriction.
Instagram Account Block
If somebody has blocked you, there’s no way you can communicate with them or steal a sneak of their content with this account.
Here are multiple ways to tell you’ve been blocked by another user on Instagram:
You can’t find yourself on the followings or followers lists of this user.
You can’t find this user when searching for them on Instagram from this account but can find them searching from another account. This is the easiest way to know if someone did block you.
Note that if you can’t find this profile in search results, it doesn’t always mean you’ve been blocked; they might have simply deactivated their account.
When someone blocks you on Instagram, all your likes and comments you’ve left under their content are deleted and won’t return once you’re unblocked. Neither will your status as their follower nor your DMs sent to them while you were blocked would be delivered.
Unlike blocking, the Instagram restriction doesn’t affect your entire account. Instead, it puts a limit on some interactions you used to make with the account. Unfortunately, there aren’t any definitive signs of the restriction, so to know this for sure, you should interact with the account using your other Instagram account and compare.
However, there are signs that might hint your actions have been restricted:
Your comments don’t appear under the user’s post or appear not right after you leave them.
This happens because the user who you comment on must approve your comments first. Your comments will only then be visible to the public, when they are approved. If they aren’t, only you will be able to see them.
2. In DM, you can’t see this user’s online or offline status, nor can’t you see whether your text has been read or not.
But this one isn’t the ultimate sign since the user can hide the status in their private settings (Settings - Privacy -> Activity Status -> Show Activity Status -> Off).
How to Know Someone Blocked You on Instagram
To confirm or disregard your suspicion, try these:
Try to search for their username in the Instagram search. If you're blocked, you won't find anyone with this handle.
Try sending a message to this user if you've previously had a conversation with them in DM. If you're blocked, this message will be sent but never delivered to or read by this user.
Go to the user’s account through Instagram Direct: you'll see an empty page with no posts or any activity if you're blocked.
If you’ve been blocked by a particular person, you won’t be able to see their posts, followers, followings, or follow them. All you’ll see is the User not found message instead of the follow/unfollow button.
Note that when an Instagram account is private, you can find it on Instagram, follow them but can’t see their content.
Open Instagram web and try to search for this user again. If you're blocked, you won't find them via Instagram web, either.
Try to search for this user from another Instagram account. If you're able to find them, your primary account has been blocked by this person.
Install 4K Stogram
4K Stogram is exactly the tool that can help you with the task. Follow the simple steps below to download your friends’ private Instagram posts.
Download and launch 4K Stogram. It’s compatible with Windows, macOS, and Linux computers.
Log in in-app to another Instagram account, not the one blocked by the user whose content you want to see.
Enter the username of an account that blocked you or whom you blocked.
All the results will be displayed on the dashboard of 4K Stogram: feed photos, stories, highlights, Reels (posted on the feed), profile pictures, and tagged posts. Thus, you’ll be able to see the content that is hidden from you on Instagram.
What's more, unlike the native Instagram functionality, 4K Stogram allows you to automatically save the content of this account on your PC each time you log in. It means that you don't have to follow this user on Instagram, using your fake account or search for them on Insta anytime you want to check what they've posted — their content will be on 4K Stogram automatically without them knowing. This function can be turned off, though.
To view where the content is stored on your PC or Mac, hover the mouse over any photo or video and press the three dots at the upper right, then choose the Show in Finder option.
Thanks for feedback
Your comments will appear here shortly. Please spread the word about us in social networks.